Anyone here a pilot?

Anyone here a pilot?

This is a discussion on Anyone here a pilot? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I am thinking of learning to fly... again. I took lessons as a kid, and goofed around in a Cessna in my college/military years, took ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Anyone here a pilot?

Administrator

Anyone here a pilot?

I am thinking of learning to fly... again. I took lessons as a kid, and goofed around in a Cessna in my college/military years, took several trips for the proverbial "$100 hamburger".

Anyway, I am wondering if its worth it for recreation purposes and maybe the occasional cross country trip to visit family/friends. Fuel costs are the big thing that have me wondering if its worth it.
    Also, if you have any tips on purchasing vs. partnership vs. renting aircraft those are needed too.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Sixto -

I've been a pilot for many decades now. Hope I can steer you in the right direction.

First of all, It's gonna be EXPENSIVE!

Not so much fuel costs either. A simple two seater (like Cessna 150) will cost around $10,000 well used.

The aircraft will have to pass an annual inspection each year (figure $1,000 min)

Then there is hangar rental and insurance.

My best advice would be for you to investigate a flying club or better yet, start your own with perhaps 5 other folks to share the fixed expenses.

You might want to check with the AOPA for info on clubs, etc.

After all that doom & gloom I need to say that flying is highly addictive and after all, boys need their toys, right?

....Skye....