Any Mechanics Here?

This is a discussion on Any Mechanics Here? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I have done a lot of work on vehicles. But Im not a mechanic or anything so a few questions. I have a Nissan 4wd. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Any Mechanics Here?

Thumbs down Any Mechanics Here?

I have done a lot of work on vehicles. But Im not a mechanic or anything so a few questions.

I have a Nissan 4wd. I just got Mud Tires ut on and today I went to change the brakes. I noticed that the fool at the tire place totally broke off a stud where the lug nuts screw on.
    And they didnt even tell me.

I was wondering if I made a 600mile (round trip) drive, would I be all right till I got back?

I wont be doing any off-road driving this trip, its all highway miles.
    Primary Carry Gun: Sig Sauer 229~R (.40cal w/ Golden Saber JHP's)

2. Remove Ads

I'm no mechanic either but unless you have 6 lugs per rim with 1 broken I don't think I'd trust it.

Did you lose 1 out of 4? 1 out of 5? Not great odds to me. :)

Stay safe - get a rental for the trip.
    "If you so much as bunny hop I'll cut your heart out!" Billy Bob Thornton in The Last Real Cowboys

"I carry a gun for the same reason that I carry health insurance and a cell phone - be prepared."

What the heck, you've still got 4 or 5 left, right?

I'm no mechanic, but I drove for a couple weeks down one lug (though always close to home) before I bothered replacing it. Though not on the freeway. If it don't vibrate though, I might risk it. If you are concerned, replacing it really was much quicker than expected. Hose it down now with wd-40. Beat it out, new one goes in. Tighten.

Have a safe one.
    Spend few minutes learning about my journey from Zero to Athlete in this mini documentary!
    Then check out my blog! www.BodyByMcDonalds.com

Cupcake - 100 pound loser, adventurer, Ironman Triathlete.