Making my pilgrimage....

Making my pilgrimage....

This is a discussion on Making my pilgrimage.... within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; As many of you know, I was a History/Economics teacher for 7 years until I took a job as an Administrative Assistant/ISS coordinator this school ...

Distinguished Member Array Doc Holliday's Avatar

Making my pilgrimage....

As many of you know, I was a History/Economics teacher for 7 years until I took a job as an Administrative Assistant/ISS coordinator this school year.

My wife and I are heading out from Ohio to Gettysburg for a couple of days. I have read and studied all that I could on this battle since I was in high school. I can't wait to see the battlefield. It will be amazing to see where Pickett's men made their gallant charge, the High Water Mark where the Confedrates were stopped just shy of busting the Union line, Little Round Top where Chamberlain held strong until he had run out of ammo and then was forced to order his men to make a desperate bayonet charge, where Bufford's calvary fought dismounted against superior numbers to hold the high ground, General Lee's HQ, Devil's Den, the Wheat Field, etc.

It will be something to look out at that hallowed ground that Lincoln described. To take in the magnatude of three days that decided the fate of a still young America, the lives lost.

It will be something for a southern man and his northern wife to walk, hand in hand around the battlefield, where 140 years ago our families would have staring down the barrels of their muskets at each other, engaged in a mortal struggle.

We also will stop along the way in Shanksville, to see the Flight 93 memorial.

I'm sure that tears will stream from my eyes on this trip.
    Why Ike, whatever do you mean? Maybe poker's just not your game Ike. I know! Let's have a spelling contest!

Distinguished Member Array mavrik46's Avatar