Security Systems

This is a discussion on Security Systems within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I've searched and found plenty of articles suggesting having a security system, but nothing about what a good one consists of. I'm a contractor and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Security Systems

Security Systems

I've searched and found plenty of articles suggesting having a security system, but nothing about what a good one consists of. I'm a contractor and would like to install it myself, but am not sure what kind of system to look at.

Since our existing system consists of two 75lb (the great dane pup will be 100+) dogs that sleep as soundly as I do, and roam the house when we're gone, that may factor into the motion sensor use. Since I'm not too sure I want to wire up 9 windows, what are my options? Are wireless systems reliable? Should I just use glass break detectors? Are there any particular brands I should look at or stay away from?

Adding a yappy dog is out of the question too.

Any comments or insight would be appreciated!
    "Lord, help me to be the person my dog thinks I am."

2. Remove Ads

I'll let the real experts chime in on most of the questions, but I did a fair amount of research when we moved into our new house (our first time having an alarm). The wireless systems seem reliable, but then there is the issue of powering every wireless sensor...that's what made me stay away from it. Installing sensors isn't that bad either. Lots of long feeler bits and you should be good to go.
    Generally speaking...more zones costs more money, more features costs more money and more types of sensors cost more money.