Dog as weapon?

Dog as weapon?

This is a discussion on Dog as weapon? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I have kinda a weird question, but I'm sure someone knows the answer. Obviously, a knife, gun, bat, ect is considered a deadly weapon. What ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dog as weapon?

Dog as weapon?

I have kinda a weird question, but I'm sure someone knows the answer.

Obviously, a knife, gun, bat, ect is considered a deadly weapon. What about a dog? Can you be accused of using a deadly weapon against someone if your dog were trained to attack and did so on your command? Or would it be viewed as a "less lethal" solution?

I doubt this is in the right forum, but I couldn't think of where to put it. So if need be, one of you mods can move it.
    "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing."

Smith & Wesson M&P9c

I'm not a lawyer or anything, but i kinda think that if you trained your dog to attack on command, you would be held legally responsible in some way; of course i imagine that it would be hard to prove that you trained it that way. Dogs do make a great defensive tool, and a even better deterrent.

Distinguished Member Array Dakotaranger's Avatar
    I would think it would depend on the State. I think there are a couple women in California in prison because their pitbull was unrestrained when it attacked and killed another person. Don't think that dogs would necessarily be a nonlethal option
    "[T]he people are not to be disarmed of their weapons.
    They are left in full possession of them."

Zacharia Johnson (speech in the Virginia Ratifying Convention,25 June 1778)"The best we can hope for concerning the people at large is that they be properly armed." ~Alexander Hamilton