It's raining today.

It's raining today.

This is a discussion on It's raining today. within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I've been sitting on something for the past 15 months or so that I've kept under my hat. Right now in Waxahachie Weldon Gray the ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: It's raining today.

It's raining today.

I've been sitting on something for the past 15 months or so that I've kept under my hat.

Right now in Waxahachie Weldon Gray the Senior is undergoing a risky surgery that will either save his life or kill him. He has a 3 in 100 chance of dying on the operating table which is almost 10 times worse odds than a normal patient. He's only 49 years old.

I first found out about this last year on my birthday. He told me he'd been fighting his insurance company, with his doctor's help, for three years for gastric bypass surgery. My dad's sick and has been for years. The pains in his body, having to wear a respirator when he sleeps at night, and the diabetes have all decreased his quality of life.

My mother told me later what I'm still not supposed to know. Without this surgery his doctor says he'd be dead within 5 years. For the first time in my life since my grandfather died when I was 7 I cried like the weak little rat that I was.

It's been a nightmare because most people interested in this surgery do it for cosmetic reasons, not to save their life. Gastric bypass surgery is radical and very expensive. Finding the money is the least of your worries and it costs a second mortgage. They're basically taking about 11 inches off of his intestines.