steak chilli

This is a discussion on steak chilli within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Someone on another thread asked for a good chili recipe using " steak " Now a bit of background for this recipee is in order ...

Thread: steak chilli

VIP Member Array Redneck Repairs's Avatar

steak chilli

Someone on another thread asked for a good chili recipe using " steak "
    Now a bit of background for this recipee is in order . It is " Poppa Dick's " green chili . Poppa Dick was a dispatcher who once kept me safe , as well as when i was a new officer in town could steer me unerringly to any address , had i been there or not , all poppa dick needed to know is where i was right now . By the time i arrived i would not only know all about the address in question , but a good deal about the neighbors . Sometimes thier grandchildren . Anyhow in a " hispanic " town i happened to have a lot of little old ladys who plied me with great food for various reasons .

In it all Poppa Dick would make chili , and share it with the few he liked , Somehow i always got at least a meal , and usualy a pot to take home . Well eventually Poppa Dick passed on and as a friend i attended to the dutys required of me by him . Among the things willed to me was the recipee for his chili . I will share an edited version with yall , and i reccomend it be done with venison thow you can do it with pork or beef .

you will need :

1 cup celery, sliced thin
    1 cup onion sliced same .
    1 (or more to taste ) can of tomatos .
    1 large ( i speak to half the standard single serving soup can size ) can of mild green chillis .
    2 to 4 lb of meat cubed into less than an inch sized cubes .
    1/2 teaspoon of garlic ( i use about a teaspoon and a half of fresh garlic )
    1/2 teaspoon of cellery salt , oregano , and cumin. that is a half each to taste .

Now for prep , dump the meat ( cubed ) into a pot on high heat and sear it .