Calling computer nerds...

This is a discussion on Calling computer nerds... within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I'm having the weirdest computer problem I've ever run across. If you don't have a very in-depth background with computers, don't bother reading this. I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Calling computer nerds...

Calling computer nerds...

I'm having the weirdest computer problem I've ever run across.
    If you don't have a very in-depth background with computers, don't bother reading this.

I know this is a gun-oriented forum but I didn't get any replies on my usual IT forum, so I thought I'd C&P this here. I know there are a few other network administrators on this forum.

A little background info:

I'm a network administrator, self-employed for a small IT consulting firm in the Seattle, WA area. I'm Cisco and A+ certified, and I'd like to think I know what I'm doing

The Problem:

For the last few days, on my home network, I've been receiving a generic SMTP error when I try to send email through my primary account (hosted on Site5).

Anyone that's self employed knows the following feeling: By the time I get home from work every day, the *last* thing I want to do is troubleshoot MY network. So I've been doing it in bits and pieces for the last few days.
    I tried reinstalling my mail client (Thunderbird), double-checking all of the mail settings, tried alternate ports, tried checking my firewall (and router, which is actually a Linux box but hey) for blocked traffic... Finally I gave up and called Site5 and asked what was up.

They then informed me that my IP address has been blacklisted for spamming.

My jaw dropped.

I have five machines running at my home IP address, which is provided to me via Comcast, a 12 megabit cable connection I cough up $50 a month for. I have two Linux boxes and three Winblows boxes, of which 2 are always on.