Is "do more with less" ruining your job

This is a discussion on Is "do more with less" ruining your job within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; It seems like every company is trying to implement the "do more with less" strategy, me for example, I work as a manufactures rep, the ...

Thread: Is "do more with less" ruining your job

Distinguished Member Array 4my sons's Avatar

It seems like every company is trying to implement the "do more with less" strategy, me for example, I work as a manufactures rep, the factories we rep are working with fewer people, and carrying less inventory, the distributors that buy from the factories, are working with fewer people and carrying less inventory, we are the in between people just plain working with less people. All three stages of the chain are trying to push more onto the other two stages, and a lot of work that original got handled, is now left undone. With no one carrying much inventory, the work load of expediting orders, and constant rechecking order status is adding to the already now over loaded work load.

Sorry to rant about my job, but is this the same in other fields. What's yours, service, sales, medical, legal?
    "fundamental principle of American law that a government and its agents are under no general duty to provide public services, such as police protection, to any individual citizen." [Warren v. District of Columbia,(D.C. Ct. of Ap., 1981)]
    If I have to explain it, you wouldn't understand

I am in IT, and for the last few years at multiple companies it has been do more with less.

I am currently building out a site of a company we acquired last year and I am having to re-use the jacked-up cable that was in this place instead of running new cable. Now with that said I am also in the process of deploying a new PBX; so I guess it is give and take right now.