Two Mtn. Lions Killed in town in one week

This is a discussion on Two Mtn. Lions Killed in town in one week within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Lots of mountain lion activity in SW Colorado this year. Here is the first one: Durango Herald Online And the second: Durango Herald Online Two ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Two Mtn. Lions Killed in town in one week

Lots of mountain lion activity in SW Colorado this year.

Here is the first one:

Durango Herald Online

And the second:

Durango Herald Online

Two young (1-2 year old) mountain lions were killed in Durango, CO this week. There have been lots of discussions on this board about how much gun is required to kill various wild animals. Interesting point is that both of these cats were killed with a .22 caliber rifle.

They haven't caught up with the Cortez lion yet.

Administrator
    I'm no wildlife expert, but I got issues with that. Killing an animal because "it scared" somebody doesn't seem right. We build our homes on the edge of or in their territory and are surprised when we see them... just doesn't make sense to me.

I get the whole "they are not scared of humans thing" so if it needs to be done, it needs to be done... but isn't that our fault to begin with?
    Last edited by SIXTO; July 18th, 2008 at 11:17 AM.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Yeah same here. I have one here in Virginia(Bluemont) and it drove me and the neighbors nuts the other night growling and screeching at the top of the drive, but he hasn't come out or around when people are around so it's been a non-issue. Typically the only time we spot him is at night if he growls or something and we go out to look. Neither one of us plan on calling him in any time soon.
    "My God David, We're a Civilized society."