Car Debate: Old & Cheap or Newer & Costs a Bit More

This is a discussion on Car Debate: Old & Cheap or Newer & Costs a Bit More within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; We are expecting our another child this winter and we need to acquire a bigger vehicle to transport the kiddos in. My wife is wonderfully ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Member Array McPatrickClan's Avatar

We are expecting our another child this winter and we need to acquire a bigger vehicle to transport the kiddos in. My wife is wonderfully supportive, will drive a van, SUV, wagon, she doesn't really care that much as long as it is safe & somewhat reliable.

Money isn't easily had around our house (I am a seminary student who works three jobs to make things happen) but we are by no means in the poor house. We are doing fine and just like to be smart with what we have.

So I got to thinking...

A car is a notoriously depreciating asset. As soon as you drive it off the lot (brand new) you can throw a brick of money out the window. So I was looking at the other end of the equation. How about those dirt cheap (sub $5K) vehicles that are considered "diamonds in the rough" by magazines like Consumer Reports? For example, a 1998 Ford Expedition is considered a Consumer Reports Best Buy. It's only valued at about $6K and could probably be had for $5K or less if you find the right seller.

The problem is that a car like that would have about 125,000 miles on it. I've asked around and some family members have said they think cars turn into pumpkins around 125-150K. I don't know. I kind of feel like I am willing to roll the dice. I'd like to pay cash for this car (if possible) and just be done with it.

I don't need anything fancy. I am a savvy buyer and can spot a problem car but I can't read the future. What do you guys think?