Need good work boots

This is a discussion on Need good work boots within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I have an old pair of red wings that are going to be retired. Anyone have any recommendations for a good, comfortable, durable pair of ...

Thread: Need good work boots

Need good work boots

I have an old pair of red wings that are going to be retired.

Anyone have any recommendations for a good, comfortable, durable pair of work boots? I definitely want Gore-tex, steel toe and a low heel.

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    What kind of work do you do? Indoor or outdoor?
    "Just blame Sixto"

I'm actually a mechanical engineer that designs HVAC, plumbing, fire protection, etc... for buildings. I do a lot of construction site walk throughs and inspections and also do a lot of verification that HVAC systems are operating properly.

So no hard work in them, mostly just walking around but steel toes are required. About 90% of my time is spent inside. I'd also wear the same boots hunting which is only occasionally and not when it's real cold outside.

I highly recommend either Chippewa or Rocky. I generally wear the "logger" style boot and always with the gore-tex (or chip-a-tex) same thing. I work in the "waste water" industry, so water proof is a big selling point for me. The Chippewas take about a week to break in and have a far better pair of laces but the Rockys are like slippers right out of the box--- no break in. I have never worn out a pair of either of these boots, I know that when my feet start to hurt near the end of the day, it is time for new boots. They usually last about a year. sorry it is kind of wordy but it is an honest review.

Cool. I was looking at Rocky boots but didn't know anything about them. I'll add them to my list along with Red Wings.

Haven't seen Chippewa around here. I need to try anything I get on since I have narrow feet and a good fit is sometimes hard to find.