How did any of us live this long?

This is a discussion on How did any of us live this long? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Watching Fox news, lady doctor telling us to make sure our kids wear helmets to snow sled, and only one kid on the sled. To ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Watching Fox news, lady doctor telling us to make sure our kids wear helmets to snow sled, and only one kid on the sled. To think I grew up jumping on the seat of a '61 Buick with a steel dash the size of an upright piano.
    I'm not a lawyer or a LEO, just a pantload with a computer.

Very true, but when you were jumping on that seat, you didn't have soccer moms driving tanks talking on cell phones and putting on make-up. People were paying attention to what they were doing on the road. There also were not as many vehicles on the road. As far as the helmets and such. I don't think I ever owned a helmet for when I rode my bike. We used to go out in the woods and have BB gun fights. Some of us got a little wounded, but none of us ever ended up in the hospital or died. Times are definitely different.
    Glock 27
    BENELLI NOVA

VIP Member
    I get tired of reading what all these "experts" think we should do to raise a child. Next thing you know they will want you to put a strainer and seatbelts on the toilet, so the kid doesn't fall in it, or off it!
    Freedom doesn't come free. It is bought and paid for by the lives and blood of our men and women in uniform.

USAF Retired
    NRA Life Member

I'm only 25 but I remember BB gun fights in the backyard, we just had to wear those ski-type goggles (the only part of that my mother got her way on)
    ‘‘To preserve liberty, it is essential that the whole body of people always possess arms, and be taught alike, especially when young, how to use them...’’

— Richard Henry Lee, 1787

Senior Moderator