Ammo shortage rumors

This is a discussion on Ammo shortage rumors within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I just started a second part time job at a local family owned outdoors/fishing/gun store here in North Florida. Since I work in the industry ...

Thread: Ammo shortage rumors

Distinguished Member Array Tally XD's Avatar

Question Ammo shortage rumors

I just started a second part time job at a local family owned outdoors/fishing/gun store here in North Florida.

Since I work in the industry now I get to see a little more of how some things work. I also get first hand experience in hearing the rumors and truths about ammunition supplies in the US.

While the store I work at does have ammo in almost all calibers it is all in small amounts for the most part. We have ammo from .32 to .45Long Colt. The only common ammo we cant seem to find is .380 auto. My boss says all of his sources are completely out of .380 .

Why would .380 be so scarce?

Why does any of the common ammo seem to be so hard to get? Are the manufacturers working overtime to keep up? What gives?

Here are some things I am seeing and hearing and I would like all input and would also like to hear from any of you that are also retailers or work for retailers of guns and ammo.

- There is no ammo

This is definitely a lie. There is ammo. We get shipments every week.

- Ammo is hard to find.
    There is some truth to this. Some ammo is harder to find than others.

- The ammo manufacturers aren't making ammo because of the credit crunch. They cant borrow the money needed for materials.

I have no idea if this is true or not. It is something I was told by my employer and he says he was told this by his distributor.

- The ammo manufacturers and distributors are holding ammo so the prices stay higher.
    Kind of like gas gouging?? I don't think I really believe this one.

- Ammo is in short supply because of the wars.