Had to buy a new digital camera today

This is a discussion on Had to buy a new digital camera today within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I posted a thread in the "Defensive Guns" section with a bunch of pics of the new XD .40. And while I was taking pictures ...

I posted a thread in the "Defensive Guns" section with a bunch of pics of the new XD .40. And while I was taking pictures with the Canon A60 camera that I have had for about 6 years or so, I saw some problems with some of the pictures I was taking. At first I thought that the LCD screen on the camera was having a problem, but when I saw that some of the pics I was taking looked like this:

And this:

I knew I had a real problem with the camera.

I work in TV, I am a Broadcast Engineer which means I repair all the electronic gear in the TV station. One of the things we work on regularly are the cameras that the News Photographers use to shoot video for the news. These cameras, for many years now, are much more computer than camera. Really, they are a sophistcated computer with an expensive lens on the front. The light that the lens picks up hits a CCD (Charged Coupled Device) that turns the light hitting it into electronic data to be stored on either tape (not so much anymore) or on big memory cards like we use now.

When I see garbage in the video like I am seeing in my Canon camera, I know the CCD block is dieing and even in a camera that costs $35,000 like the ones we use at the station, that usually turns that camera into a write off. So in a 6 year old digital camera that cost all of $250 brand new, that camera is shot.

Went to Circuit City to see if they had any good deals since they are liquidating everything and found a nice 10.2 megapixel Samsung camera with face recognition, image stabilization, and plenty of storage space for just $105! Got it and an extra 2 gig SD card and was out the door for a grand total of $120 with tax and everything!