Fixing the carpet

Fixing the carpet

This is a discussion on Fixing the carpet within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Anyone know how to fix a patch of carpet that got ruined? My cat got locked in the dining room for the day and tore ...

Distinguished Member Array Pro2A's Avatar

Fixing the carpet

Anyone know how to fix a patch of carpet that got ruined?

My cat got locked in the dining room for the day and tore up the carpet under the door trying to get out. Now I have a huge hole there.

I've looked on Google about carpet repair, but I am by no means an expert, and do not understand much of what they say to do. I am handy and can generally figure things out (plumbing issues, electrical, minor maintenance etc...)

I have some spare carpet in the basement left over from when it was put in, and I know that I have to cut out the damaged area and do something with an iron. That's the extent of my knowledge on carpet replacement. Does anyone have any pointers or quick solutions to fix it quick?

Thanks!

VIP Member
    I'm no carpet guy but here are some thoughts from my experiences:

Carpet is often ironed together to make seams, so it is feasible that your leftover scraps could be used for that purpose. The type, color, and sculpture of your carpet will have a bearing on how noticeable the patch will be. IOW sometimes it's easy to spot the seams and sometimes it's not. Lot's of carpet does slightly change color, fade, wear & tear over time, so keep that in mind when inserting a "new" piece for a patch.

I wonder if your carpet could be re-stretched and enough slack taken out of the doorway to make a new seam under the door there and totally eliminate the area that the cat damaged?