Job seekers beware of gmail addresses on Craig's List
This is a discussion on Job seekers beware of gmail addresses on Craig's List within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Heads up for anyone looking for work on craigslist:
If an employment ad has you reply to a gmail address, check it out carefully. You'll ...
-
July 24th, 2009 10:58 AM
#1
Distinguished Member
Array
Job seekers beware of gmail addresses on Craig's List
Heads up for anyone looking for work on craigslist:
If an employment ad has you reply to a gmail address, check it out carefully. You'll probably be sent a link to a "HR site" or "job board" to complete the application.
There IS no application. It's an info collection site for SPAMMers and scammers.
This appears to be all over the country.
.
Whenever I see a gmail address now I open another tab and google it.
For instance, this ad is in the nooga CL now:
Loading, unloading and driving a box truck. Inspecting materials. Receiving and recording COD payments. Restocking all returns in the warehouse. Unloading and stocking products from vendors.
Must have clean criminal background and be able to pass drug screen. Must be able to carry items weighing up to 75lbs 25 to 30 percent of the time. Must have high school diploma or Ged. $10.75-$13.00 Hourly
Contact Frank.Richards72@gmail.com to apply.
* Location: Chattanooga
* Compensation: $10.75-$13.00 Hourly
* Principals only. Recruiters, please don't contact this job poster.
* Please, no phone calls about this job!
* Please do not contact job poster about other services, products or commercial interests
If you google the email, it shows the same ad placed in multiple cities.
Heads up!
Jp
-
July 24th, 2009 10:58 AM
Remove Ads
-
July 24th, 2009 11:37 AM
#2
Ex Member
Array
Wifes friend did the same thing and she got a check in the mail the next day and that evening a call asking for her to cash it and send the money back. Doh!
Of course she reported it.
-
July 24th, 2009 11:37 AM
#3
Member
Array
kinda different but same.....I posted a for sale ad for a $1800 item. I recieved a e-mail from a person wanting to send me a money order for $3900 so I could cash it and pay his "shipper" when they picked it up. I told him to suck my....ummmm...toe?
-
July 24th, 2009 02:22 PM
#4
Distinguished Member
Array

Originally Posted by
jca1
kinda different but same.....I posted a for sale ad for a $1800 item. I recieved a e-mail from a person wanting to send me a money order for $3900 so I could cash it and pay his "shipper" when they picked it up. I told him to suck my....ummmm...toe?
Yeah, that crap has been around awhile. Scamming the help wanted ads is a new low.
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
Similar Threads
-
By chiboxer in forum General Firearm Discussion
Replies: 13
Last Post: January 6th, 2010, 07:01 PM
-
By retsupt99 in forum Off Topic & Humor Discussion
Replies: 28
Last Post: April 1st, 2009, 03:30 PM
-
By texasboy in forum In the News: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly
Replies: 18
Last Post: August 1st, 2008, 10:40 AM
-
By Daniella in forum Off Topic & Humor Discussion
Replies: 1
Last Post: April 29th, 2008, 05:19 AM
Search tags for this page
richards72 gmail
, richards72@gmail.com