Cutting hours to save the dead weight

This is a discussion on Cutting hours to save the dead weight within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I want to start by saying that I truly hope this does not come off as me complaining about my situation. I am grateful that ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

I want to start by saying that I truly hope this does not come off as me complaining about my situation. I am grateful that I have a job and that I am in a relatively stable financial state that is almost entirely debt free. I appreciate the hardships of the many members of this forum who are in dire straits due to the poor economy and are out of work themselves... but I'd like to get this off my chest.

Just as some basic background, I work as a service and repair technician in a retail store for a major US cellular carrier. I learned today that my hours where I work are likely to be cut back. The fact that my hours are being cut back isn't what makes me upset, it's why they are being cut back.

I work in a store of about 20 employees. We learned that we need to shed a body because our business does not support our staffing. Unfortunate, but the nature of business I suppose. Instead of cutting the one person that is required, my manager at this point is going to cut hours back (to around 36 per week for full timers) instead.