Current/Former LEOs... Talk to me

This is a discussion on Current/Former LEOs... Talk to me within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; As many of you know, I am currently a certified Career level firefighter and National Registry certified EMT. Although I do enjoy my job, I ...

Thread: Current/Former LEOs... Talk to me

As many of you know, I am currently a certified Career level firefighter and National Registry certified EMT. Although I do enjoy my job, I am becoming more and more interested in pursuing something in the LE field. I have always had a longing for both the fire side and the LE side of public service and I have accomplished at least half of that to this point. Up here in NH, there are what appears to be some valuable areas where part-time LEOs could find some great success and fullfill a much needed role. I'm not sure if I am completely ready to jump ship and go full-time to the LEO side, but it could be a possibility in the future. I like the challenges involved with being a firefighter, but I believe I would welcome the challenges of the LE side even more so. I want to take things to the next level. I want to be the tip of the spear.

If any of you guys could share your thoughts, feelings, or pros/cons having been on the LE side, I would certainly welcome them. Being on the local FD, I have had the opportunity to work closely with the local PD and have a good working relationship and comraderie with them. I would very much enjoy also being a fellow "brother".
    Firefighter/EMT
    "You've never lived until you've almost died. For those who fight for it, life has a flavor the protected will never know" - T.R.

<----My LT was unhappy that I did not have my PASS-Tag at that fire. But I found the body so he said he would overlook it. :)