Rehashing old threads, etc.

This is a discussion on Rehashing old threads, etc. within the Old Forum News, Feedback, Problems & Comments forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; I know I am a newbie here, but I have been around online forums for a long time. I have always wondered why there is ...

Thread: Rehashing old threads, etc.

Question Rehashing old threads, etc.

I know I am a newbie here, but I have been around online forums for a long time. I have always wondered why there is such a stigma attached to either folks bringing up an old thread or asking the same question for the umpteenth time.

#1 - A guy starts a thread that has been asked before, and quickly gets either a response something along the lines of "Hey dummy, this has been asked a billion times already, use the search function. " or the thread gets locked/closed/etc.

#2 - Some guys posts something new in an old thread and gets questioned why he is bringing one back from the dead.

I guess I am just kind of curious as to what difference does it make? Don't click on the thread if you don't want to read it, etc, etc. I guess each website has their own ideals and all, but what does it really accomplish?

Not trying to be a dummy, I'm really just curious. I mean, after all aren't we all here to talk and post topics to begin with?

2. Remove Ads

In Delaware, East of the Mason Dixon Line.
    I really don't know but I suspect that, in part, it has to do with server storage capacity. Also, for people who are interested in a particular subject it is difficult to monitor and participate in simultaneous conversations on the same subject. Last it creates additional work for the moderators who I believe are volunteers.

Regards,
    "To believe that social reforms can eradicate evil altogether is to forget that evil is a protean creature, forever assuming a new shape when deprived of an old one." - SAT