OC explanation

This is a discussion on OC explanation within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi, guys. I'm new to this part of the forum. I'm struggling with open carry in general. In this stage of our fight for our ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: OC explanation

OC explanation

Hi, guys. I'm new to this part of the forum. I'm struggling with open carry in general. In this stage of our fight for our rights and freedom does open carry and demonstrations turn people off to our cause. I don't know how you would demonstrate with concealed carry unless everyone concealed carry and then carried a sign saying 'I'm carry a concealed weapon." I'm in one of the oppressed states, Illinois, so I'm trying to understand this issue. Is there a belief that we should/can all walk around with OC?
    Please help a rookie understand?

2. Remove Ads

Without getting into a forum rules violation, the answer is absolutely YES/NO/MAYBE. People have different reactions to seeing someone exercise their right to bear arms.
    ‎An enemy of liberty is no friend of mine. I do not owe respect to anyone who would enslave me by government force, nor is it wise for such a person to expect it. -- Isaiah Amberay

The carrying of a weapon should not be for the purposes of demonstrating or making a statement. OC and CC is a hot bed topic in this place. I personally never OC, and prefer not to be noticed. On the other hand, there are people who OC because either they are not allowed to CC, or think they are advancing the cause of gun ownership by walking around in public placing carrying a weapon openly or both. I prefer the discreet approach and element of suprise. Which ever you choose, you will do more for gun ownership by conducting yourself in a manner that people respect.

Could not agree more with you
    The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: Psalm 111:10

Distinguished Member Array Pro2A's Avatar