Georgia: Open Carry v Concealed

This is a discussion on Georgia: Open Carry v Concealed within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a Fl resident and I just noticed that GA has an Open Carry option. If someone has the link to their regulations I ...

Thread: Georgia: Open Carry v Concealed

I am a Fl resident and I just noticed that GA has an Open Carry option. If someone has the link to their regulations I would be much obliged.

I know that GA has reciprocity with FL, but why would anyone open carry if the concealed option is there?

I was shocked to read that you cannot carry in a rest stop (not that I have visited one for over 3 years).

Are the GA laws like Utah's whereby you cannot carry with one in the chamber? Or you can only have a revolver carry 2 less than capacity?
    NRA, Lifetime Member

2. Remove Ads

You can carry with a locked and loaded weapon open and concealed.

And people have all kinds of personal reasons for open carrying.

Georgia Gun Laws in Plain English on GeorgiaPacking.org

I have just started carrying open as of yesterday because I like the idea of having the .45 for protection over the .380
    RIA 1911 vs. Bersa .380

I also open carry to deter wanna-be thugs in my my area from trying to rob me like every single one of my close friends has been.

Also--check out Handgunlaw.us

As far as OC vs CC....that is covered under the forum rules:
    9. We have learned from bitter experience that discussions of certain subjects (politics, religion, abortion, sexual orientation, etc) often degenerate quickly. For this reason, we prohibit these subjects in our discussions. We also discourage "caliber wars" and the virtues of "open carry" topic; strongly encouraging you to take these discussions to other forums where these topics are the focus.
    Some prefer OC for convenience. It's a personal preference.
    Magazine <> clip - know the difference