Ultimatum From the Rabbi

This is a discussion on Ultimatum From the Rabbi within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I've been carrying regularly for 4-1/2 years, mostly concealed, but have to open carry in restaurants that serve alcohol. My wife and I are Jewish ...

Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: Ultimatum From the Rabbi

Ultimatum From the Rabbi

I've been carrying regularly for 4-1/2 years, mostly concealed, but have to open carry in restaurants that serve alcohol. My wife and I are Jewish and many, but not all, of our Jewish friends are far left liberals. I'm a financial officer in our congregation and wear several hats on various committees; I've made myself kind of indispensible as has she. We go out once or twice a week with the Rabbi and his wife, including many Friday nights after sabbath services. The president of the congregation also carries and attends these dinners with his wife, open carrying of course.

The pres. told me today that about two weeks ago, the Rabbi called him in the middle of the day and wanted to talk and even drove to the president's office to meet with him. It was pretty much along the lines of "my wife and I are very uncomfortable being around you and jofrdo when you two have guns with you. We value your friendship but..." So the president promised to stop carrying around the Rabbi, but also pointed out that when he talks to me, I will have much stronger feelings about it.

Well, the Rabbi hasn't approached me yet. When he does, I'll point out that on July 1 a new law takes effect and I will be able to keep the gun concealed so he won't have to see it, but that him asking me not to carry is simply out of bounds. If he wants to be a pacifist victim, fine. But I've made my decision to protect my life and to carry the tools with which to do so.

2. Remove Ads