A little education

This is a discussion on A little education within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Got off work late today, 9 PM, after 14 hours. Stopped at Chick-fil-A to grab something for the wife and myself to eat. I was ...

Thread: A little education

VIP Member

A little education

Got off work late today, 9 PM, after 14 hours. Stopped at Chick-fil-A to grab something for the wife and myself to eat. I was OC'ing my SA 1911 and I noticed a guy staring at me. Nodded to him and turned back to the counter. I caught him approaching out of the corner of my eye and turned to face him.

He asked why I carried a gun, and I told him for self defense. He then asked if I was a police officer, to which I replied no. His comment was "Oh, just an average citizen." Next he asked if I always carried to which I said, "Ever where it is legal to." He asked me why I felt I needed to, and I told him. "Just read the newspaper and listen to the news, you never know when you might need something for protection." Next he asked if I lived in a bad neighborhood. I told him "No, not really. But crime doesn't recognize neighborhood boundaries."

Seemed to satisfy him. He said "OK" and went back to his table and family.

While it probably didn't sway his opinion one way or the other. I think it might have given him something to think about.
    Freedom doesn't come free. It is bought and paid for by the lives and blood of our men and women in uniform.

USAF Retired
    NRA Life Member

2. Remove Ads

good job, sometimes it takes a little spark of info to get someone thinking. Hopefully you provided that spark and we might have him carrying some day soon!

Good job! I might have ask him how he planned to protect his family if need be.

What was his attitude when he approached you?

Without knowing his attitude, the questions sound rather neutral to me and he might very well be “on the fence” and thinking about it.