Why OC unless you have to? Food for Thought

This is a discussion on Why OC unless you have to? Food for Thought within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Okay, my first post on the OC forum. This IS NOT a personal attack on anyone. I fully support open carry if that is what ...

Thread: Why OC unless you have to? Food for Thought

Why OC unless you have to? Food for Thought

Okay, my first post on the OC forum. This IS NOT a personal attack on anyone. I fully support open carry if that is what you want to do. I apologize if this is covering old ground but I will risk incurring some wrath to posit some food for thought. I fully recognize that I have no knowledge of this having occurred but it is only a matter of time IMHO. In 35 years of policing, one of the constants is that handguns are THE MOST sought after items by lowlifes. If you are openly carrying, yes you will MOST likely stop an aggressive encounter before it happens. If however, you have a determined enemy or scumbag intent on getting that super tricked out 1911/ Sig/ Mountain Gun, whatever, you get the point--they now know to do an armed, total surprise attack on you-maybe just shooting you in the back of the head and then taking what they want off of your cooling body. I am moving to Arizona next week and plan on doing a lot of hiking/ climbing/ biking. If I can work out a way to carry my Blackhawk Bisley .45 Colt and/or Glock G22 concealed but readily accessible, that is how I will most certainly carry.

2. Remove Ads

I think I misread the guidleines for posting her and should have put it elsewhere. Sorry.