Really want to try open carrying but......

This is a discussion on Really want to try open carrying but...... within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm only 22. I live and hang around the city where I went to high school in. I just have this feeling the first time ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

I'm only 22. I live and hang around the city where I went to high school in. I just have this feeling the first time I try it i'm going to run in to my high school teacher, a friends mom or a classmate that I graduated with. a lot of people would not even think of this, but I am not much of a person for confrontations like these ones. Im obviously not a cop so I don't even expect that question although I wouldn't doubt hearing it. any thoughts on it?
    Last edited by Chazeman2; November 12th, 2010 at 03:22 PM. Reason: misspelled words

Just curious WHY you want to OC?
    I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I expect the same from them. -- John Wayne as John B. Books in "The Shootist"

Sounds like you need to figure out just why you want to OC. What do you hope to accomplish?

Why does anyone OC if that's a relevant question?

My true answer is because i never have and i'm curious to see what it feels like. I can't like it or knock it till i try it

Why is probably THE most relevant question to ask. Please don't take it as a slam but you sound like you really should put some more thought into it before you start carrying either open or concealed.

It's not a boxers or briefs kind of activity, you are opening yourself to a whole new massive liability and you need to be extremely sure of your actions. With firearms there rarely are do overs.