Negative OC reaction

This is a discussion on Negative OC reaction within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I was on my way back from the shooting range and had my Kimber SS Ultra Raptor II in an OWB Galco holster with my ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Negative OC reaction

Negative OC reaction

I was on my way back from the shooting range and had my Kimber SS Ultra Raptor II in an OWB Galco holster with my shirt tucked in so my pistol was exposed. On my way home I stopped by to pick up laundry that I had dropped off to be done the day before. I walked into the laundry and on to the counter. The young girl working the counter looked at me then her eyes went to the pistol on my hip. She asked me if I was a police officer and I told her no. I told her that Louisiana was an open carry state and that I have a permit to carry a handgun. She then, in a very loud voice, said "he's got a gun". That got everyone who was in the laundrys attention. She then went on and on about my wearing a handgun and the longer she talked the louder she became. Other customers were starting to come closer to see what the problem was. I got my laundry and as I was trying to leave this young counter girl yelled at me from across the store that she was going to call President Obama. I turned and replied "good luck with that", and then left. The next day I called the owner of the laundry and told him what his employee had done and said. He told me that she had already called him and gave her side of the incident, minus the Obama threat. The laundry owner is a staunch 2nd A. supporter/gun owner and told me that I had done nothing wrong and that he was going to councel this employee on how to treat customers as well as explain Louisiana gun laws. He also told her that he approved of open carry and if she wanted to keep working at his store she would never again verbally abuse a customer or ever ask another customer if they had a g