The realities of Open Carry

This is a discussion on The realities of Open Carry within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to this forum and I honestly did not know that so many people open carry. I guess in the area I am ...

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: The realities of Open Carry

I am new to this forum and I honestly did not know that so many people open carry. I guess in the area I am from, you never see it. I am a police officer and I never open carry when I am off duty. The reason why I do not open carry is because I want a tactical advantage. I do not want a potential suspect to know that I am a cop until it is too late for him. I also do not want to be the first person shot in a robbery. Mainly because I am the person trained to eliminate the threat. That is my perspective from an off duty officers view. However, I do believe the overall crime rate would go down if more good civilians were to open carry. It would deter many criminals from robbing a business or snatching a ladies purse if they saw a man next to her with a gun. I am just curious if the common civilian is worried about the same things an off duty cop is worried about. I also wonder if other police officers feel the same way. I do not want this to be a debate about whether open carry should be allowed but more of a discussion of why you choose to open carry over concealed carry. I was also curious if people worry about what other civilians think when they see someone with a gun. Do you feel that it makes the people around you nervous?(This does not apply to states/counties that allow open carry but do not allow concealed carry.)