Michigan OC Question

Michigan OC Question

This is a discussion on Michigan OC Question within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to the OC/CPL discussion and do not have a CPL as of yet (Take the course on Feb 11th), but I have ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By RETSUPT99

Thread: Michigan OC Question

Michigan OC Question

I am new to the OC/CPL discussion and do not have a CPL as of yet (Take the course on Feb 11th), but I have been around firearms for years (including military). I have a question regarding Michigan OC law & Vehicle transport.

I am probably misreading the law in Michigan, but I believe there are specific times you can transport your weapon. They are basically like to & from ranges, cleaning/repair, moving etc.

So if that is the case, what legal ramifications are there if someone has their weapon stored properly in their vehicle and they are going to the park or something (not to shoot, but plan on open carrying), or to a restaurant that doesn't serve alcohol etc., and is pulled over. Wouldn't this be an issue?

I am curious as I would like to support open carry, but also do not want to create issues for me getting a CPL just because I am transporting a firearm so I can open carry it.

Thanks in advance.
    - Andy

Distinguished Member Array skysoldier29's Avatar
    In Michigan without a CPL you can have have a loaded weapon in the car period. For open carry you would have to drive to where you are going, uncase the weapon and then carry it openly.

Quote Originally Posted by skysoldier29 View Post
    In Michigan without a CPL you can have have a loaded weapon in the car period. For open carry you would have to drive to where you are going, uncase the weapon and then carry it openly.
    I think you mean..."you cannot"...
    Last edited by RETSUPT99; January 31st, 2012 at 09:45 PM.
    oneshot likes this.