New to Firearm Ownership

New to Firearm Ownership

This is a discussion on New to Firearm Ownership within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; -If this post is in the wrong spot and needs moved, I understand. I'm one of the newbies here.- Growing up a lot of my ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: New to Firearm Ownership

New to Firearm Ownership

-If this post is in the wrong spot and needs moved, I understand. I'm one of the newbies here.-

Growing up a lot of my friends' parents owned firearms, and some of my friends had their own. So, I'm no stranger to a firearm. I am a newbie to the whole firearm ownership side of things. My parents were never against firearms, but they also never saw the need to own any growing up. They taught my sisters and I about the Constitution and it's importance, just never bought any guns.

Earlier this year I bought my first rifle, my wife's first pistol, and my first pistol. Up until me, my wife never fired a firearm, but that is an interesting story for another time (hint: found out firearms work same as jewelry ). Anyway, I have been kind of nervous about open carrying my pistol. I have been waiting to get my CHL (OH's version of CCW) before I open carry. The reason behind the wait is because in OH you can't transport a loaded weapon in your vehicle without a CHL. I would like to just get out of my car with my pistol already strapped to my side....I know...lazy.

Is there any Buckeyes in here, namely Dayton Area, that OC regularly? And what are the best OC areas, or at least usually don't put up much of a fuss? I have seen some businesses in the Beavercreek area that have that dumba** "No Weapons/Firearms Allowed", but have not seen too many in Riverside or Dayton Metro areas.

Thoughts anyone?

Distinguished Member Array technomonster's Avatar