Take gun to job?

This is a discussion on Take gun to job? within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I recently purchased a pistol for protection at my job. I am a restaurant manager in Oakland County Michigan. I was sketchy about walking to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree36Likes

Thread: Take gun to job?

Take gun to job?

I recently purchased a pistol for protection at my job. I am a restaurant manager in Oakland County Michigan. I was sketchy about walking to my car at night. I am in the waiting to take a class for my CPL. I wondered if it was legal to take my pistol to work (with separated ammo and gun in trunk and glove box).

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    1) Start here: Handgunlaw.us

2) Don't take legal advice from Internet posters. You don't know me - what if I knew it was illegal, but intentionally told you that it was not? "I read it on the Internet" is not a legal defense.

3) Welcome to the forum.
    -PEF, a Framer with a Steelie...
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    1. All guns are always loaded.
    2. Never let the muzzle cover anything you are not willing to destroy.
    3. Keep your finger off the trigger until your sights are on the target.
    4. Be sure of your target and what is beyond it.

Determine if your place of work is a "protected" spot in the same way as, say, a federal government facility, or the "secure" zone of an airport, or otherwise restricted by your state's statutes.

Determine if pretty "No Guns" signs or policies hold the force of law in your state. In many states, they're just signs, and you can only be charged with anything if you're requested to leave but refuse to do so.