Yet another benefit of open carry

This is a discussion on Yet another benefit of open carry within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I stopped at a local auto parts store on the way home today. Sig is open carry in a thumb break owb. I notice a ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree95Likes

Thread: Yet another benefit of open carry

I stopped at a local auto parts store on the way home today. Sig is open carry in a thumb break owb. I notice a guy going person to person/car to car asking for change as I pull in. As I'm walking to the store, he approaches. He noticeably stops, stumbles and proceeds in the other direction.

Pan handling is not allowed. I assume he thought I was a cop. Either way, added benefit to open carry.

Added visual deterrent to uncomfortable situations ;)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
    "Ours is the only country deliberately founded on a good idea." ~John Gunther

VIP Member
    Good for you. There are some drawbacks, as others have noted on other threads. We were at our local liqour/wine store a couple weeks ago and just as we were about to get out of the car we noticed an older man (probably younger than we are) come out of the store wearing an empty holster. (Store is not posted) He got to his truck which was right next to our car, opened the door, reached in for his gun, holstered it and then got in the truck and drove away.

This old fella was smart enough to know that if he walked into a liqour store OC he might cause a rucus - or a lot of consternation at least. So, there are good things about OC and not so good things depending on the situation.

Glad your OC worked in such a positive way for you though.
    Getting old was not on my list of "things to do" in the Golden Years!

==================

Talking to each other here is good, but taking action is better.