Why not open and concealed carry?

This is a discussion on Why not open and concealed carry? within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; In the process of getting my LTC, I've been researching whether I would like to carry open or concealed. After learning more about the pros ...

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Like Tree183Likes

Thread: Why not open and concealed carry?

In the process of getting my LTC, I've been researching whether I would like to carry open or concealed. After learning more about the pros and cons of each, I started to wonder. Would it not be ideal to do both? An openly carried weapon could deter a criminal and a concealed backup weapon would certainly be a surprise to someone like a bank robber who has already taken your side arm and made you lay on the floor with everyone else. I have no experience or data concerning this, but just a thought.

Whether it'll aid or harm a given situation, as with a criminal running roughshod over a shop full of people ... who knows. Some might be deterred; some might be emboldened; some (probably most) won't see enough to recognize the risk of resistance. And one never knows what sort of perp one's going to be facing, when the SHTF. Might get the dolt. Might get the observant one. Might get the scaredy-cat. No way to know. On-balance, does it help or hurt? Who's to say, one way or the other?

Whether it'll aid or harm you, particularly, with respect to altering your speed of presentation, that'll depend on you, your clothing, your skills.

Whether it'll aid or harm you, socially speaking, with respect to blending into a situation ... that'll depend on where you live, the level of knee-jerk fear type folks out there, etc.

Depends.