OC in vehicle, WV specific

This is a discussion on OC in vehicle, WV specific within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm fairly new to WV and I'm confused by our state laws concerning the transportation of firearms; more specifically, pistols. From what I understand, a ...

I'm fairly new to WV and I'm confused by our state laws concerning the transportation of firearms; more specifically, pistols.

From what I understand, a weapon cannot be readily accessible and where would I store a pistol in a vehicle and still not have it considered concealed?

For example, my truck is a Ram regular cab with only a glove box and placing it in there would be considered concealed. I obviously can't keep it tucked between my seat and the center seat because it would be readily accessible, correct? So where do I store it unloaded and separate from the ammo? In the factory box or a bag or behind the bench seat? Isn't that also concealed? At least back home in NC, I only had to have it in plain view on the dash or on the passenger seat.

I don't see the point in having one with you if you can't have the weapon and ammo readily available in the event of a car jacking attempt. Sometimes it's like you're damned if you do and damned if you don't but until I get my CCW permit I would like to have a pistol with me when I'm on the road.

Distinguished Member Array GWRedDragon's Avatar
    West Virginia Code:

61-7-3. Carrying deadly weapon without license or other authorization; penalties.