Tennessee OC Laws

This is a discussion on Tennessee OC Laws within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I would like to know if OC is legal in TN. I CC all the time, but it didn't occur to me until recently to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tennessee OC Laws

Tennessee OC Laws

I would like to know if OC is legal in TN. I CC all the time, but it didn't occur to me until recently to ask about OC. I am new to this stuff and fairly new to TN.

2. Remove Ads

Yes it is. But some do get hassled.

Distinguished Member Array Arko's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by FlyboyLDB View Post
    Yes it is. But some do get hassled.
    That about sums it up. How much you get hassled by the sheep at large or nervous police seems to depend on where in the state you are too. Knoxville (West knox especially) for example seems to be a tough spot, with lots of antis/sheep that wouldn't hesitate to make a "man with a gun" call, whereas in some other areas, I hear folks don't bat an eye.
    "Don't Tread on Me"

Distinguished Member Array Arko's Avatar
    You beat me to it again, flyboy!
    "Don't Tread on Me"

Distinguished Member
    My permit class instructor advised not to open carry as it exposes one to greater risk of attack by thugs who want a gun - sort of like wearing a money clip on your belt. No doubt you thought about this and are capable of choosing when and where to open carry. It's not something that I would do - especially not where there's a crowd.
    Americans understood the right of self-preservation as permitting a citizen to repel force by force
    when the intervention of society... may be too late to prevent an injury.
    -Blackstone’s Commentaries 145–146, n. 42 (1803) in District of Columbia v. Heller, 554 U.S. 570 (2008)