Questions about OC from a newbie CC'er

This is a discussion on Questions about OC from a newbie CC'er within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm still new to CC. I ocassionally check threads in the OC board, because I find the idea intriguing. I'm not sure that I'll ever ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions about OC from a newbie CC'er

Questions about OC from a newbie CC'er

I'm still new to CC. I ocassionally check threads in the OC board, because I find the idea intriguing. I'm not sure that I'll ever do it, but thought I'd throw out a few questions for the OC'ers.

1) If you have kids, did you (or do you) OC while they were young? How did you explain it to them?

2) It seems OC'ers get hassled somewhat frequently. Understandably so, since the average person probably has no clue it's even legal to OC (assuming you are in an OC state), much less that it's legal to CC. How often are you hassled? By regular citizens? By police?

3) What is your primary motivation for OC? Has OC'ing helped accomplish this objective?

I think this post is starting to sound like an essay test, so I'm sorry for that :) Just interested to know...I don't personally know any OC'ers.

2. Remove Ads

I am new at CC as well. I went shopping for shoes and the sales girl noticed my key chain with the Police Magnum pepper spray in a leather holder. She asked me where I got that and mentioned how she was harassed by guys when she left for home. I simply took the spray and gifted it to her. She hesitated and asked what I would have to protect myself if I gave her the spray and I said "Don't worry, I am carrying"...of course I didn't show her the piece, but I did advise her to get training and a CPL. She thanked me a lot and could not beleive I gave her the spray.