Dipping my toes into OC

Dipping my toes into OC

This is a discussion on Dipping my toes into OC within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Eeeh, I think that made sense. Anyways, I'm new to Defensive Carry, but I've lurked quite a bit. I tried OC'ing for the first time ...

Thread: Dipping my toes into OC

Dipping my toes into OC

Eeeh, I think that made sense. Anyways, I'm new to Defensive Carry, but I've lurked quite a bit.

I tried OC'ing for the first time today. I live in mid-Missouri, where it's legal, but rarely exercised. I want to OC while I wait for my Maine NR permit (I'm 20), but seeing as how I'll have to unload/reload every time I step out of my vehicle, it's a bit too much of a hassle. Not to mention how scared the sheeple would be if they were to see me step out of my car, go to the trunk, load, rack the slide, and holster before entering a store. (I'm wondering if it would still be illegal for me to keep the gun in my holster and the mag/ammo in the trunk while driving...probably)

However, today I decided to at least try just to see if I'd get a negative response being in such a liberal/anti-gun town. Anyways, not much of a story, but I walked our dog around our neighborhood (mostly college students) wearing jeans and a polo, as usual, but with my XD9SC perched in my Blade-Tech Revolution holster at 4:00.

I left the house, expecting some scared neighbor to eventually call the cops, but I took about a 45 minute walk and nothing happened! Granted, there were fewer people outside than I expected, but I walked past a few people, cars were passing me on the street, and I don't even think anyone noticed.

So, overall...I got my toes wet a bit. I feel more comfortable about it, I still can't wait to get my ME permit, but at least now I've got past the initial scare, sorta. But then again, is it just that people are completely oblivious and inattentive?