Have You Ever Deterred a Crime?

This is a discussion on Have You Ever Deterred a Crime? within the Open Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; i've been carrying a gun for many years now. for the last few, i've carried openly more often. when i carried concealed, there have been ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Have You Ever Deterred a Crime?

Have You Ever Deterred a Crime?

i've been carrying a gun for many years now. for the last few, i've carried openly more often. when i carried concealed, there have been times when i've needed to draw, or at least put my hand on my gun. i always felt horrible afterwards, and i always hope i never have to again.

i've noticed that since i began to OC, the necessity of doing so has nearly disappeared. i've posted a few experiences where, i believe, my openly carried gun averted a crime, situations where, if i'd been concealing, i might have had to draw on someone.

for you that open carry: have you, or are you aware of any instances where your openly carried gun deterred a crime from happening? i'm not trying to prove anything, or collect data, i just like to hear people's stories.

open carry seems to be working for me. my neighborhood isn't the greatest in the world; compared to the rest of my city, crime is a bit higher. contrary to other parts of town,m my neighbors actually seem to appreciate OC, and a few have said they feel safer for it.

2. Remove Ads

Yea. I told my brother-in-law (sister deceased) if I ever saw him again I'd kill 'em. I never saw him again.

Seriously, only petty stuff. It makes folks think a wee bit.

As a Paramedic, and as a deployed soldier I have stopped/deterred many crimes. As a private citizen, I have stopped a few fights from happening, but thankfully, nothing more than that.
    Healthy children will not fear life, if their parents have integrity enough not to fear death.
    -TIME DEUM ET OPERARE IUSTITIAM--