Small magnum pistol primers vs. regular small pistol primers

This is a discussion on Small magnum pistol primers vs. regular small pistol primers within the Reference & "How To" Forum forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am just getting into reloading and I know in the reloading books that it says to not use small magnum pistol primers in place ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By gasmitty

Thread: Small magnum pistol primers vs. regular small pistol primers

Small magnum pistol primers vs. regular small pistol primers

I am just getting into reloading and I know in the reloading books that it says to not use small magnum pistol primers in place of just small pistol primers. I have done some research and have found people have used them succesfully with no problems. Looking for any more ideas or maybe some references if anyone knows of any.

2. Remove Ads

Why would you want to use magnum instead of regular primers?

Certain powders, especially when densely loaded in a case, require a more intense ignition than standard primers provide. I'd be careful about substituting them indiscriminately, especially with fast-burning powders.
    bmcgilvray, Aceoky and Bad Bob like this.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

I've substituted magnum primers a few times for regular ones when I was loading a small batch of ammunition and unable to go buy primers just then. It works fine with light to moderate powder charge weights. Making such a substitution isn't the time to be loading favorite maximum charged handloads or experimenting with new full-powered handloads. It's easier to just keep ample quantities of all kinds of needed primers on hand ... or was prior to the present administration's emergence on the scene.
    “No possible rapidity of fire can atone for habitual carelessness of aim with the first shot.”

Theodore Roosevelt, The Wilderness Hunter, 1893

NOVA...200 square miles surrounded by reality
    Quote Originally Posted by gasmitty View Post