Plumbing lead for reloading?

Plumbing lead for reloading?

This is a discussion on Plumbing lead for reloading? within the Reference & "How To" Forum forums, part of the Related Topics category; i am getting ready to start reloading and i am also a plumber, we get alot of old cast iron drain lines that we have ...

Like Tree20Likes
  • 5 Post By HotGuns
  • 3 Post By msgt/ret
  • 3 Post By latentcarry
  • 3 Post By dangerranger
  • 4 Post By OldVet
  • 2 Post By oldskeetshooter

Thread: Plumbing lead for reloading?

Lightbulb Plumbing lead for reloading?

i am getting ready to start reloading and i am also a plumber, we get alot of old cast iron drain lines that we have torn out and my question is can thae lead from theses lines be use for casting and reloading safely thanks in advance for any information on the subject.

Senior Moderator
    Yep.

Some of the lead has a lot of impuritys in it. You just have to skim the crud off the top. Its mostly pure lead, so it'll need to be alloyed to make harder bullets, otherwise they'll be pretty soft.
    I would rather stand against the cannons of the wicked than against the prayers of the righteous.

AR. CHL Instr. 07/02 FFL
    Like custom guns and stuff? Check this out...
    http://bobbailey1959.wordpress.com/

VIP Member
    Plumbers lead is perfect for blackpowder arms since it is dead soft but as mentioned it should be alloyed other metals to make it harder for centerfire rounds, tin and antimony are the two most common.

Here is a website with some good info regarding lead bullets. Cast Bullets For Beginner And Expert - Joe Brennan
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."