My Cobra CA-380 Overhaul (how to)

This is a discussion on My Cobra CA-380 Overhaul (how to) within the Reference & "How To" Forum forums, part of the Related Topics category; I recently bought a new Cobra CA-380 for my girlfriend. Pretty little gun with pink grips and everything, scored me lots of brownie points. Attachment ...

I recently bought a new Cobra CA-380 for my girlfriend. Pretty little gun with pink grips and everything, scored me lots of brownie points. Attachment 90754Attachment 90755 Turns out the gun had loads of flaws that needed addressing before I would allow her to even shoot it. These problems and flaws are all over the internet, but as of now I haven't found a decent guide on how to clean this gun up. I am not a gunsmith by profession, but have been tinkering for years. This is just what I had to do to get this gun fully functional.

1. Firing pin and slide
    This was the biggest issue. upon releasing the slide to chamber the first round, the slide would hang and have to be nudged or bumped forward slightly to dislodge the round from the magazine and chamber it. What was happening was that when the slide was pulled back and the firing pin caught the sear, the firing pin was hanging on the rough machining marks inside the slide when trying to slide back forward. This was fixed by sanding the machining marks off the inside of the slide where the pin travels and two spots on the pin itself. The two spots on the firing pin are crucial as you don't want to mess with the contact point for the sear. I personally just rolled up a piece of 800 grit to tightly fit inside the slide and hand sanded it down. I would NOT recommend a dremel or similar tool unless you can find a way to sand the entire inside surface evenly, and only enough to remove the machining marks. You are not trying to make a bigger travel space for the firing pin to travel, just a perfectly smooth path to travel in. Attachment 90759Attachment 90760

2.Extractor