Gear to buy to bring to the range?

This is a discussion on Gear to buy to bring to the range? within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey all! I am relatively new to long range shooting and have just purchased a new Remington 700 SPS .308 that I can't wait to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gear to buy to bring to the range?

Gear to buy to bring to the range?

Hey all!
    I am relatively new to long range shooting and have just purchased a new Remington 700 SPS .308 that I can't wait to take to the range! Can you all help me with a list of all essential (and maybe not essential) equipment that I should get to make sure that I have all the bases covered?
    I have to be relatively budget conscious or I'll wind up in the doghouse with the wife!

Looking forward to hearing all your great advice, thanks!

2. Remove Ads

JD
    Administrator
    • Sunblock.
    • Data book.
    • Shooting mat.
    • Bandana to keep sun off neck.
    • Lens pen
    • Insect Repellant

Good choice on the rifle. Depending on the range and power of your rifle's scope, a spotting scope is a good investment, so you can see your hits from a distance. Sandbags to rest the rifle on for zeroing it in, to reduce shooter error. I prefer shoot n see type targets for long range.

And the stuff JD said.
    Fortes Fortuna Juvat

Former, USMC 0311, OIF/OEF vet
    NRA Pistol/Rifle/Shotgun/Reloading Instructor, RSO, Ohio CHL Instructor

Forgot to add...

I will also have a Harris bipod on it and the range is about 300 yards. Thanks for the quick replies! Keep 'em coming!

Senior Moderator
    Benchrest
    Spotting Scope
    Water
    lots of ammo
    I would rather stand against the cannons of the wicked than against the prayers of the righteous.

AR. CHL Instr. 07/02 FFL
    Like custom guns and stuff? Check this out...
    http://bobbailey1959.wordpress.com/

VIP Member