Speedloaders - HKS -v- Safariland

This is a discussion on Speedloaders - HKS -v- Safariland within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been using HKS speedloaders for my J frames for a few years now. I recently saw a video where Mas Ayoob slams his ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Speedloaders - HKS -v- Safariland

VIP Member

I have been using HKS speedloaders for my J frames for a few years now. I recently saw a video where Mas Ayoob slams his speedloaders in and they just fall away. These looked faster than my HKS where you have to turn the knob and hold the cylinder to release the rounds. I set out in search of what Mas was using - Safariland speedloaders.

I just got my order of Safariland speedloaders and, wow, they are a lot faster than the HKS speedloaders. My overall perceptions are that the HKS is better made and will last longer and the HKS covers the primer better than the Safariland, which basically does not. The HKS are cheaper too, however, the Safariland take up less room in your pocket (if that is where you carry them).

If I am in a firefight, I value the speed of reload much more than the other features. I have converted over to the Safariland for carry and, barring a failure in use, i.e., dumping the rounds in my pocket or breakage, I don't see going back. I am not slamming the HKS, but the Safariland's faster reload wins the day for me.

Safariland is on the left in both pics. Both are loaded with the same .357 rounds.

It's the Land of Opportunity, not the Land of Entitlements - Vote America!!!

"When governments fear the people there is liberty. When the people fear the government there is tyranny." Thomas Jefferson

You are only paranoid until you are right - then you are a visionary.

Distinguished Member Array Stubborn's Avatar