Question about hearing protection

This is a discussion on Question about hearing protection within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm pretty new to shooting, so bear with me if this is a dumb question. So far, I've just been renting eye and eye protection ...

Thread: Question about hearing protection

Question about hearing protection

I'm pretty new to shooting, so bear with me if this is a dumb question. So far, I've just been renting eye and eye protection when I go to the range. Even though it's cheap to rent, I figure it's time I just buy my own.

I been looking at different ones online, and it seems like there's the normal "ear-muff" style, and then there's the "inside the ear" style, like the SureFire EarPro Sonic Defenders. I can't imagine the "inside the ear" styles offer the same level of protection, so I'm leaning towards the normal ones. But the SureFire ones look pretty nice too. Am I missing something?

Thanks!

2. Remove Ads

I'm sure you mean eye and ear protection. I have used both in ear, and ear muff hearing protection. I just got the in ear silicon molded hearing protectors and they are great. A little pricey at $50, but well worth the money. I also have a set of Leight ear muff type and they work great also. The only complaint about the ear muff type is that they get so wet when I perspire.

A lot depends on where you shoot. I shoot mostly indoors at ranges that have a lot of "soft" walls. That is to say fiberboard dividers and rubber backstops. In those situations either type work, it just depends on what you feel most comfortable with. One of the ranges at which I shoot has all "hard" surfaces like polycarbonate dividers steel ceiling and steel backstops. At that range I usually end up using both in ear and ear muff hearing protectors.

Some people use the foam, or rubber earplugs, but they hurt my ears after a few hours so I switched to the silicone.