AR15 sling advice

This is a discussion on AR15 sling advice within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm kinda new to the AR. not being military or Law Enforcement,I need some advice, I've been looking at slings. single point,2 point and 3 ...

Thread: AR15 sling advice

AR15 sling advice

I'm kinda new to the AR. not being military or Law Enforcement,I need some advice, I've been looking at slings. single point,2 point and 3 point. if you had to carry your AR all day with any military or tactical sling you wanted what kind would you pick and why? I'm just trying to get some ideas. I would prefer it not to be leather because of the heat and humidity in my neck of the woods What I'm looking for is comfort and fast access.
    I would rather die standing up than live life on my knees.

2. Remove Ads

Learned the hard way,V-Tac's are the only way I go now,although the new Magpul looks interesting.

VIP Member
    V-Tac. Comfortable, solid, fast, versatile. I've used a lot of slings over the years, and this is the best I've found.
    A man fires a rifle for many years, and he goes to war. And afterward he turns the rifle in at the armory, and he believes he's finished with the rifle. But no matter what else he might do with his hands - love a woman, build a house, change his son's diaper - his hands remember the rifle.

V tac sling

Ditto what the others have said. I use it on my 6920. You can check it out on Youtube.

V-Tac - but get the padded one.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

I no longer use a single point even on my 8" or 10.5". I prefer an adjustable two point and I either attach it near the barrel nut and stock using QD's or switch to the end plate instead of the stock for the rear if I need a little more maneuverability. VCAS standard for me, but I like the VTAC as well.