Ear and Eye protection

This is a discussion on Ear and Eye protection within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I wear glasses. Wife does not. I am looking for a recommendation for eye protection for the both of us and ear protection. Will be ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Ear and Eye protection

Ear and Eye protection

I wear glasses. Wife does not. I am looking for a recommendation for eye protection for the both of us and ear protection. Will be firing up to 9mm for what's its worth as far as noise. Are there any active noise canceling muffs that are under say $50? Is passive okay for muffs? Any online suggestions as I can't find much locally ? Newbie here so please be gentle.
    Gunowner99 - NRA Life Member

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I use cheapo muffs and glasses, and put the savings on more ammo.
    "When you have to shoot, shoot, don't talk."
    Tuco

I bought my glasses and ear protection from walmart.Can't remember what the muffs cost.The glasses were around 6.00.

I personally wear plugs, then muffs over then cheap clear osha safety glasses. I can't see with sunglasses it limits my vision. I don't like it being obstructed. As far as the hearing that seems to work fine for me. My ears don't ring when I leave a range or shooting session.

VIP Member
    I wish I had noise cancelling ear protection but have made do with plain old ear muff style ones. It is a good idea to stick soft
    ear plugs in --- but in my experience I almost never get them to go where they are supposed to. I've bought stuff that supposedly
    molds to the shape of the ear; waste of money. SO, plain muffs for me.

On eyeglasses. I wear "sports" glasses. The strap doesn't interfere with the ear muffs and the polycarbonate lenses are pretty
    good for basic protection. When I have tried to wear safety glasses over regular prescription glasses it just has never worked well