How to select night sights

This is a discussion on How to select night sights within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I assume just like with everything else, night sites are about preference. Is there anything I should consider when looking for night sites? Im looking ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to select night sights

How to select night sights

I assume just like with everything else, night sites are about preference. Is there anything I should consider when looking for night sites? Im looking for a set for my Glock 19.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array BadgerJ's Avatar
    Night sights are no good after the first shot. Just sayin'...

Quote Originally Posted by BadgerJ View Post
    Night sights are no good after the first shot. Just sayin'...
    Just curious, but why is that? I've been considering them myself for my 1911.
    “But now,” he said, “take your money and a traveler’s bag. And if you don’t have a sword, sell your cloak and buy one!” Luke 22:36 (NLT)

Probably referring to shooting in the dark, the flash kind of kills your vision.

The flash from your first shot will ruin your night vision. On the other hand, placement of that first shot is pretty important.
    --If you find yourself in a hole, the first thing to do is stop diggin’.

As with many people, my night vision appears to vary with the color of sights, size of sights. And, yes, with bright flashes, subsequently picking out tiny and dim specs of light (on night sights) can be rough for many people.