Flashlights - educate me

This is a discussion on Flashlights - educate me within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm looking in to adding a flashlight to my arsenal. I have no experience with them, other than maglite flashlights. I have a 3D LED ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: Flashlights - educate me

Flashlights - educate me

I'm looking in to adding a flashlight to my arsenal. I have no experience with them, other than maglite flashlights. I have a 3D LED model that has been the best/brightest one I've ever had. As to tactical lights - I need some edgeum occasion.

Some thoughts - I'd like to be able to mount the light to a picatinny rail. It looks like there are a lot of types of mounts out there. The main factor there seems to be the diameter of the light frame. That having been said, how do you activate the rear button lights while gun-mounted? If I am understanding the tactical lights right - depending on the button sequence you can change the operation mode (output intensity, strobe, solid, etc). How would one turn on the light in strobe mode or constant mode while on a gun?

As to intensity - is there any "benchmark" to go off of? My main purpose for the light would be as a force multiplier. I am guessing lights, no matter what their intensity, work best at night. What about during the day time? Is day-use asking too much? Or could I still get away with disorienting an attacker?

What else can you guide me on regarding lights? I'd rather not spend a fortune on a light, but it looks like they can be well in to the $100 range.

2. Remove Ads

Its easy buy once keep it a long time, surefire, streamlight, fenix any of these are excellant

Quote Originally Posted by Easy8 View Post
    Its easy buy once keep it a long time, surefire, streamlight, fenix any of these are excellant
    ^ Good advice, there. Lots of choices of sizes/features in those three companies' offerings.