Defensive Carry banner

Separate gun light or this?

2K views 29 replies 21 participants last post by  Mike1956 
#1 · (Edited)
I recently bought a PPQ for a HD weapon. So now I want to make sure I can use it when I might need it, i.e. in the dark. So I was looking at getting a Streamlight TLR-1 but then I saw this Fenix Gun Mounted Lighting Kit with TK22 Flashlight - 23% Off. So my question is should I get it and then I have the option of using the flashlight when I need a tactical flashlight or get a dedicated gun light? This will be my first gun light or tactical flashlight. Any wisdom or advice is appreciated since I am a newbie to these things.

EDIT: I'd like to thank everyone for their informative response. Today I went to REI which carries the Fenix light I was considering. After seeing it in person I realized that is just not practical as a pistol light. And after reading everybody's posts I decided the best thing is to have both a dedicated weapon light and flashlight. Once again thanks for all of you who took the time to give me an informative answer. It definitely helped me make up my mind.

#3 ·
I want no light on my gun. Don't point a gun at something your not going to shoot . Loaded gun and light breaks that rule for sure.

#16 ·
Yes I realize it violates one of the four basic laws of gun use but how are you going to see what you can't see? Do you use a flashlight in your off hand? I worry that in the heat of the moment my one handed use would be less than what it is in ideal conditions.

#5 ·
Living in a forest, it gets really dark at night. I use a flashlight often, and do not want to be waving my pistol around without good reason. On a similar vein, my dogs and cat love chasing lasers around the yard, i had to buy a flashlight with one for the same reason.

#7 ·