SureFire G3 T & E

SureFire G3 T & E

This is a discussion on SureFire G3 T & E within the Related Gear & Equipment forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey guys. Well, I just bought a SureFire G3 and a dear friend of mine ask that I give an evaluation on the light here ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SureFire G3 T & E

SureFire G3 T & E

Hey guys. Well, I just bought a SureFire G3 and a dear friend of mine ask that I give an evaluation on the light here on Combat Carry.

First thing I will say, is that Die Hard SureFire fans (like me) will appreciate the G3. Especially if you have "meat hooks" like yours truly. I needed a good, solid duty light that is a little bit longer than the G2 I was carrying. I ALMOST bought a Streamlight Stinger, but I reminded myself of the manhunt I was on last fall when my department issue Streamlight quit on me! But that's another story!

I'm not an expert nor a collector. I'm just a dumb cop who relies on his tools to get the job done day in and day out. I own 2 other SureFires...a black G2 and a HA E2e. Both lights put out a remarkable source of light and the lumens rating is just about the same for each...however, the G2 has more "throw" than the E2e, which has more "flood" than the G2. I love my G2 and my E2e very much...but this report is for the newest SureFire member - the G3!

The G3 is a 9 volt tactical flashlight made of SureFire's Nitrolon, or as we in the gun business call it - polymer. The G3 is a handfull of light! That is the main reason I went out and got one. The best SureFire that I ever owned was a 9P, but in a moment of weakness, I let that one go to a fellow officer that was in DESPERATE need of a good quality light and I knew that with the 10 or 12 kids that he has, he could never afford one, so I made him a ******* deal on mine. Needless to say, he still proudly carries and uses the SureFire 9P. The G3 is basically a polymer version of the aluminum 9P.